When I went in to try and create individual sidebar blocks based on the navigation I wanted to create for users on my pages I saw an alert that said that if I created a new block, all of my themes options would be reset.
I’ve done quite a bit of work getting the site to this point and that freaked me out so I just downloaded a plugin that would allow me to select what widgets show of on which pages.
That being said, I’m having a couple issues with the layered navigation plugin and the layout of a custom menu plugin (it’s crunched too close to the widget above it) and I’m almost willing to save all the settings and way I configured the sidebar widgets if it will resolve the issue. But before I go that route, I wanted to make sure that this doesn’t reset every theme option that I’ve created and is limited to my sidebar settings ONLY.
Will creating a new sidebar block for my widgets reset my sidebar only or does the warning include all of the theme options that have already been configured and set?
Thank you for the clarification,
As far as I know there shouldn’t be any loss of data when you add a widget area to a page but there can be issues when removing them if its not in the opposite order of how they were added (ex. removing the first widget area you added after adding multiple others).
The topic ‘What exactly will reset if I create a new sidebar block?’ is closed to new replies.